Monday, June 17, 2013

Friends of Oakwood – What is FOO and what does a Class rep do?

Posted by Unknown


The Friends of Oakwood School group or FOO is made up of parents who organize various fun activities for the children and parents throughout the year and provide a link between class parents and school about general areas of concern and suggestions for improvement.  

The FOO was formed:

  • To foster friendship between the parents, staff, pupils and all those who come into contact with the school
  • To promote and support the School
  • To enhance the standards of the School's buildings, grounds and equipment through fundraising activities
  • To organise fun events that can be enjoyed by pupils, parents and staff


Monthly informal meetings are held in the Library after Friday Assembly (usually the first Friday of each month).  The dates for these meeting can be found in the school calendar, on the School website and on the School noticeboard.  One FOO meeting a term is held in the evening to include those who are not able to attend during the day for work reasons.

Each class has a representative, or sometimes two people who decide to share responsibilities such as:

  • Welcoming new pupils and parents
  • Attending meetings with school management (once a term)
  • Disseminating information from the school that is class specific
  • Organising parent social events
  • Attending monthly FOO meetings and promoting FOO events to class parents
  • Organising end of term/year teacher gifts etc.


These reps work on a voluntary basis, usually for a year and it can be a great way for new parents to get to know other parents, pupils and staff members.

Should you be interested in becoming a class rep for your class In September 2013, please contact your current FOO representative below:

Current class reps for 2012/13
Nursery – Helen Pattinson (helen.pattinson@montezumas.co.uk)

Kindergarten Hedgehogs – Polly Vose (polly.vose@hotmail.com)
Kindergarten Badgers – Helen Solly (hsolly@boundaryleisure.com)

Reception Squirrels – Lucy Jackson (lucyejackson@gmail.com)
Reception Owls – Clare Hawkins (handchawkiins@attglobal.net)

1B – Ann Williams (ann@aloegreen.co.uk)
1SY – Kate Holligon (holligons@hotmail.co.uk)

2R – Rachel Orr (rachelorr@me.com)
2P – Emily Street (Emilybarr33@hotmail.com)

3T – Sally Waterworth (spwaterworth@hotmail.co.uk)

4M – Ruth Sweet or Karen McBride (ruth_sweet@hotmail.com mcbridefamily@hotmail.com
4W – Joely Wharton or Kate Bolton (joely.wharton@gmail.com katrin_uk@yahoo.com

5RB Charlotte Williams (Lottywilliams@googlemail.com)
5NB Sarah Mayhead (smayhead@oakwoodschool.co.uk)


6B & 6WF Ros Simms represents both classes but obviously is not required to find a replacement rep as year 6 are leavers.

0 comments: